2015 Academy Award Winners

So who took out the top awards at this year’s Oscars? See our full list of winners!

Best Picture

birdman-poster-images WINNER: Birdman
American Sniper
The Grand Budapest Hotel
The Imitation Game
The Theory of Everything


04RYZIK1-articleLarge WINNER: Alejandro G. Iñárritu — Birdman
Richard Linklater — Boyhood
Bennett Miller — Foxcatcher
Wes Anderson — The Grand Budapest Hotel
Morten Tyldum — The Imitation Game


LR-Emmanuel-Lubezki-on-the-set-of-Birdman WINNER: Emmanuel Lubezki — Birdman
Robert Yeoman – The Grand Budapest Hotel
Lukasz Zal & Ryszard Lenczewski — Ida
Dick Pope — Mr Turner
Roger Deakins — Unbroken

Original Screenplay


WINNER: Alejandro G. Iñárritu, Nicolás Giacobone, Alexander Dinelaris, Jr. & Armando Bo — Birdman
Richard Linklater — Boyhood
E. Max Frye and Dan Futterman — Foxcatcher
Wes Anderson and Hugo Guinness — The Grand Budapest Hotel
Dan Gilroy — Nightcrawler

Adapted Screenplay


WINNER: Graham Moore — The Imitation Game
Jason Hall — American Sniper
Paul Thomas Anderson — Inherent Vice
Anthony McCarten — The Theory of Everything
Damien Chazelle — Whiplash

Film Editing


WINNER: Whiplash — Tom Cross
American Sniper — Joel Cox and Gary D. Roach
Boyhood — Sandra Adair
The Grand Budapest Hotel — Barney Pilling
The Imitation Game — William Goldenberg

Feature Documentary


WINNER: Citizenfour — Laura Poitras, Mathilde Bonnefoy and Dirk Wilutzky
Finding Vivian Maier — John Maloof and Charlie Siskel
Last Days in Vietnam — Rory Kennedy and Keven McAlester
The Salt of the Earth — Wim Wenders, Juliano Ribeiro Salgado and David Rosier
Virunga — Orlando von Einsiedel and Joanna Natasegara

Short Documentary


WINNER: Crisis Hotline: Veterans Press 1 — Ellen Goosenberg Kent & Dana Perry
Joanna — Aneta Kopacz
Our Curse —Tomasz Śliwiński & Maciej Ślesicki
The Reaper (La Parka) — Gabriel Serra Arguello
White Earth — J. Christian Jensen

Actor in a Leading Role


WINNER: Eddie Redmayne — The Theory of Everything
Steve Carell — Foxcatcher
Bradley Cooper — American Sniper
Benedict Cumberbatch — The Imitation Game
Michael Keaton — Birdman

Actress in a Leading Role


WINNER: Julianne Moore — Still Alice
Marion Cotillard — Two Days, One Night
Felicity Jones — The Theory of Everything
Rosamund Pike — Gone Girl
Reese Witherspoon — Wild

Actor in a Supporting Role

J.K. Simmons Whiplash

WINNER: J.K. Simmons – Whiplash
Robert Duval — The Judge
Ethan Hawke — Boyhood
Edward Norton – Birdman
Mark Ruffalo – Foxcatcher

Actress in a Supporting Role


WINNER: Patricia Arquette — Boyhood
Laura Dern — Wild
Keira Knightley — The Imitation Game
Emma Stone — Birdman
Meryl Streep — Into the Woods

Foreign Language Film


WINNER: Ida — Poland; Directed by Pawel Pawlikowski
Leviathan — Russia; Directed by Andrey Zvyagintsev
Tangerines — Estonia; Directed by Zaza Urushadze
Timbuktu — Mauritania; Directed by Abderrahmane Sissako
Wild Tales —Argentina; Directed by Damián Szifron

Animated Feature Film


WINNER: Big Hero 6 —Don Hall, Chris Williams and Roy Conli
The Boxtrolls — Anthony Stacchi, Graham Annable and Travis Knight
How to Train Your Dragon 2 — Dean DeBlois and Bonnie Arnold
Song of the Sea — Tomm Moore and Paul Young
The Tale of the Princess Kaguya — Isao Takahata and Yoshiaki Nishimura

Animated Short Film


WINNER: Feast — Patrick Osborne and Kristina Reed
The Bigger Picture —Daisy Jacobs and Christopher Hees
The Dam Keeper — Robert Kondo and Dice Tsutsumi
Me and My Moulton — Torill Kove
A Single Life — Joris Oprins

Live Action Short Film


WINNER: The Phone Call — Mat Kirkby and James Lucas
Aya — Oded Binnun and Mihal Brezis
Boogaloo and Graham — Michael Lennox and Ronan Blaney
Butter Lamp (La Lampe au Beurre de Yak) — Hu Wei and Julien Féret
Parvaneh — Talkhon Hamzavi and Stefan Eichenberger

Visual Effects


WINNER: Interstellar — Paul Franklin, Andrew Lockley, Ian Hunter and Scott Fisher
Captain America: The Winter Soldier — Dan DeLeeuw, Russell Earl, Bryan Grill and Dan Sudick
Dawn of the Planet of the Apes — Joe Letteri, Dan Lemmon, Daniel Barrett and Erik Winquist
Guardians of the Galaxy — Stephane Ceretti, Nicolas Aithadi, Jonathan Fawkner and Paul Corbould
X-Men: Days of Future Past — Richard Stammers, Lou Pecora, Tim Crosbie and Cameron Waldbauer

Original Score


WINNER: Alexandre Desplat — The Grand Budapest Hotel
Alexandre Desplat — The Imitation Game
Hans Zimmer — Interstellar
Gary Yershon — Mr. Turner
Jóhann Jóhannsson — Theory of Everything

Original Song


WINNER: “Glory” John Stephens and Lonnie Lynn —Selma
“Everything is Awesome” Shawn Patterson — The Lego Movie
“Grateful” Diane Warren — Beyond the Lights
“I’m Not Gonna Miss You” Glen Campbell and Julian Raymond — Glen Campbell… I’ll Be Me
“Lost Stars” Gregg Alexander and Danielle Brisebois — Begin Again

Sound Editing


WINNER: American Sniper — Alan Robert Murray and Bub Asman
Birdman — Martin Hernández and Aaron Glascock
The Hobbit: The Battle of the Five Armies — Brent Burge and Jason Canovas
Interstellar — Richard King
Unbroken — Becky Sullivan and Andrew DeCristofaro

Sound Mixing


WINNER: Whiplash — Craig Mann, Ben Wilkins, and Thomas Curley
American Sniper — John Reitz, Gregg Rudloff and Walt Martin
Birdman — Jon Taylor, Frank A. Montaño and Thomas Varga
Interstellar — Gary A. Rizzo, Gregg Landaker and Mark Weingarten
Unbroken — Jon Taylor, Frank A. Montaño and David Lee

Production Design

The Grand Budapest Hotel - 64th Berlin Film Festival

WINNER: The Grand Budapest Hotel — Adam Stockhausen & Anna Pinnock 
The Imitation Game — Maria Djurkovic & Tatiana Macdonald
Interstellar — Nathan Crowley & Gary Fettis
Into the Woods — Dennis Gassner & Anna Pinnock
Mr. Turner — Suzie Davies & Charlotte Watts

Costume Design


WINNER: Milena Canonero — The Grand Budapest Hotel
Mark Bridges — Inherent Vice
Colleen Atwood — Into the Woods
Anna B. Sheppard and Jane Clive — Maleficent
Jacqueline Durran — Mr. Turner

Makeup & Hairstyling


WINNER: Frances Hannon & Mark Coulier — The Grand Budapest Hotel
Bill Corso & Dennis Liddiard — Foxcatcher
Elizabeth Yianni-Georgiou & David White — Guardians of the Galaxy